Michigan Fireworks Law and You !
Below are the important parts of the law that apply to consumers.

MICHIGAN FIREWORKS SAFETY ACT (EXCERPT) Act 256 of 2011

28.462 Prohibited conduct; smoking; violation as civil infraction or misdemeanor; civil fine; definitions; signage. Sec. 12.

(1) A person shall not ignite, discharge, or use consumer fireworks on public property, school property, church property, or the property of another person without that organization's or person's express permission to use those fireworks on those premises. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a person that violates this subsection is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00.

(2) Consumer fireworks shall not be sold to a minor. A person that violates this subsection is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00. This age requirement shall be verified by any of the following:

(a) An operator's or chauffeur's license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923.

(b) An official state personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300.

(c) An enhanced driver license or enhanced official state personal identification card issued under the enhanced driver license and enhanced official state personal identification card act, 2008 PA 23, MCL 28.301 to 28.308.

(d) A military identification card.

(e) A passport.

(f) Any other bona fide photograph identification that establishes the identity and age of the individual.

(3) An individual shall not use consumer fireworks or low-impact fireworks while under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance. As used in this subsection:

(a) "Alcoholic liquor" means that term as defined in section 1d of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1d.

(b) "Controlled substance" means that term as defined in section 8b of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.8b.

(4) An individual who violates the smoking prohibition under NFPA 1124, 7.3.11.1 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(5) Signage stating the smoking prohibition described in subsection (4) satisfies the requirements of NFPA 1124.

History: 2011, Act 256, Eff. Jan. 1, 2012

2013 Firework Law Updates

The bill signed into law 07/01/13 will allow any city, township or village to enact an ordinance banning overnight "ignition, discharge or use" of consumer fireworks on the day before, of or after a national holiday. Violations could be punished by a civil fine of up to $500. Municipalities already have the ability to limit usage on all other days of the year.

Local units of government with a population of at least 50,000 residents or those within a county of at least 750,000 residents will be able to prohibit blasts between 12 a.m. and 8 a.m. on and around most holidays. New Year's celebrations, however, must be allowed to continue until 1 a.m. Smaller communities will be able to prohibit use from 1 a.m. and 8 a.m. around all national holidays.

Check to see what your city has passed any local ordances reguarding fireworks. If not the 2012 rules still apply.
Michigan Firework Law
Michigan Fireworks Law and You !
Below are the important parts of the law that apply to consumers.

MICHIGAN FIREWORKS SAFETY ACT (EXCERPT) Act 256 of 2011

28.462 Prohibited conduct; smoking; violation as civil infraction or misdemeanor; civil fine; definitions; signage. Sec. 12.

(1) A person shall not ignite, discharge, or use consumer fireworks on public property, school property, church property, or the property of another person without that organization's or person's express permission to use those fireworks on those premises. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a person that violates this subsection is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00.

(2) Consumer fireworks shall not be sold to a minor. A person that violates this subsection is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00. This age requirement shall be verified by any of the following:

(a) An operator's or chauffeur's license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923.

(b) An official state personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300.

(c) An enhanced driver license or enhanced official state personal identification card issued under the enhanced driver license and enhanced official state personal identification card act, 2008 PA 23, MCL 28.301 to 28.308.

(d) A military identification card.

(e) A passport.

(f) Any other bona fide photograph identification that establishes the identity and age of the individual.

(3) An individual shall not use consumer fireworks or low-impact fireworks while under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance. As used in this subsection:

(a) "Alcoholic liquor" means that term as defined in section 1d of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1d.

(b) "Controlled substance" means that term as defined in section 8b of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.8b.

(4) An individual who violates the smoking prohibition under NFPA 1124, 7.3.11.1 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(5) Signage stating the smoking prohibition described in subsection (4) satisfies the requirements of NFPA 1124.

History: 2011, Act 256, Eff. Jan. 1, 2012

2013 Firework Law Updates

The bill signed into law 07/01/13 will allow any city, township or village to enact an ordinance banning overnight "ignition, discharge or use" of consumer fireworks on the day before, of or after a national holiday. Violations could be punished by a civil fine of up to $500. Municipalities already have the ability to limit usage on all other days of the year.

Local units of government with a population of at least 50,000 residents or those within a county of at least 750,000 residents will be able to prohibit blasts between 12 a.m. and 8 a.m. on and around most holidays. New Year's celebrations, however, must be allowed to continue until 1 a.m. Smaller communities will be able to prohibit use from 1 a.m. and 8 a.m. around all national holidays.

Check to see what your city has passed any local ordances reguarding fireworks. If not the 2012 rules still apply.
Michigan Firework Law
12649 Dix-Toledo Road
Southgate, MI 48195
734-282-1055
Southagte Fireworks
Southgate Fireworks
12649 Dix-Toledo Road Southgate, Michigan 48195
734-282-1055
Buy One Get One FREE  On ALL Fireworks. Bonus Items Too !